About Us

The parish of the English Martyrs, Horley, is part of the Crawley deanery group of parishes in the Diocese of Arundel and Brighton. As well as the town itself, the parish includes the surrounding villages of Charlwood, Smallfield and Outwood.

The parish priest is Fr Alban Aguezeala and the parish house is on the same site as the Church. The Church is usually open during the day so that the many people who pass by may use it for a quiet moment or a time for prayer in their busy lives.

The History in brief

The present church was designed by the architect, J H Alleyn and built in 1962. The plan is octagonal with projecting chapels to the north and south and a rectangular narthex to the west. The church is built of yellow brick. At the north end of the covered walkway leading to the main entrance is a detached bell tower of open 'ladder construction'. Inside, the fluted shape of the central roof dictates the undulating form of the continuous band of clerestory windows. At the lower level, an ambulatory, running behind the pierced screens flanking the sanctuary, encircles the building.

The ground floor windows are set in triangular projections. The eighteen concrete-set glass windows, designed by Pierre Fourmaintreaux, are filled with 10,000 pieces of one inch thick stained glass. The images they contain represent the Stations of the Cross.

SOURCES: BoE: Surrey (1962); RIBA Biographical file, Justin Henry Alleyn; English Martyrs Church: Welcome to our Church! (Guide to features of the church, largely the stained glass).